Potty Training 101

When Abby was potty training, she was in daycare.  While I never enjoyed paying tuition every week, I’m beginning to have a new appreciation for what it means to potty train a child.  Abby was a willing potty trainer, for the most part.  From early on, she was in training pants style diapers (think pull-ups).  Potty training was a big focus at her daycare once the kids were 2.  And, when both parents work 40+ hours per week, daycare takes up the vast majority of every weekday.  So, the evenings and weekends were just extensions of everything her teachers were doing during the week.

Now, Katie will be 2 in less than 2 months. (OMG!  I can’t believe I just typed that.  I can’t believe my baby girl is almost 2!!!) For the past few months, she’s initiated going potty on the potty totally on her own.  Apparently, we’ve got an overachiever on our hands already.  But, she only chooses to “go potty” with me.  Since Daddy is home with her during the day, she doesn’t mention anything to him before she goes potty.  But, as soon as she’s done, she is quick to let him know she’s gone potty and she’s ready for a diaper change.  As soon as I get home from work, she’ll let me know when she needs to potty.  I can only think of a handful of times that she’s said she needed to potty but didn’t actually go.  I’m super proud of her initiative, but I’m starting to wonder what it is going to be like when she’s in full-blown potty training stage.  More accurately, I wonder what it will be like for Mike during the week.  The thought of trying to juggle a potty training toddler and a mobile infant scares me a lot little.  I envision all sorts of bad timing on everyone’s part.  Thankfully, Mike has an uncanny ability to anticipate Katie and Jeb’s needs.  I’m sure that will come in handy.

For now, we’ll just let Katie continue down the self-initiated path at her own pace.  I’m not in a hurry to have her potty trained.  While the savings in diaper money would be nice, I also know that potty training = more (smelly) dirty laundry = more water.  And, if I’m being totally honest, taking my children into a public restroom is one thing I hate to do.  I’m not much of a germ-a-phobe until I’m in  a public restroom.  Then, ugh.  Just ugh.  And, if Katie takes after her sister (and most other kids I know) she will always need to go anytime we enter a building with a public restroom.  Every. single. time.  So yeah, for now, diapers are my friend.  Oh, and I hear boys tend to potty train later than girls.  Hopefully, Jeb is aware of this already 😉 and I can put that off even longer.

Leave a Reply

