Public School is NOT for Dummies

Education was always important in my house growing up.  My parents were supportive of my education and provided me with the help and resources I needed.  (Uber nerd?  That was me.  I had my very own collection of World Book Encyclopedias.  I doubt Abby even knows what an encyclopedia is…and it is really hard to type encyclopedia correctly on the first try.)

During part of elementary school, I was in private schools.  Otherwise, I was in public schools in Illinois (Champaign), Tennessee (Williamson County) and North Carolina (Rowan and Cabarrus Counties).  Um, yeah, we moved.  A lot.  I don’t remember when my parents stopped helping me with my homework.  Probably some time in elementary school, except for proofreading in later years.

Now, thanks to Common Core (I’m not a fan, in case you were wondering, but that is a whole other post), Mike and I feel like we’re having to re-learn the basics all over again.  OMG!  I’ve never felt so incredibly stupid in math before.  Ever.  I’m not a genius, but I was always really good at math.  So was the hubs.  It came easy for both of us.  You’d think helping our 4th grader with basic homework would be a breeze.  You’d be wrong.  W-R-O-N-G, wrong.

Math just isn't the same anymore
Math just isn’t the same anymore

Hello, my name is Phyllis and I need a math tutor.  For myself.  So that I can help my kid with her homework  <–because admitting you have a problem is the first step to recovery

It makes me feel a little better to know that other friends are struggling in similar ways.  Smart friends.  And, to have teachers acknowledge we haven’t gotten dumb in our old age makes me feel a little better.  Things are different now.  Oh, so different.

So, for those NC parents out there who are struggling with your kids’ math homework too, here’s a little help.  It mainly deals with 4th and 5th grade math.  Good luck and let me know if you find a good tutor 😀

One thought on “Public School is NOT for Dummies

  1. I am so thankful we don’t have Common Core in TX!!! I haven’t noticed any math craziness, yet, into 4th grade…but math is Will’s *thing* (language & spelling = UGH!!!) so I never help him with it. GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!! I have heard the horror stories, as well – TONS of them! You are not alone!!!

Leave a Reply

