25 Days of Elflessness

For those of you who totally subscribe to the “Elf on the Shelf” kool-aid, stop reading here.  No, seriously.  Stop.  Because you aren’t going to like anything I have to stay.  Starting…..NOW!

We have an elf.  His name is Tyler.  He is over 30 years old and he was around when my husband was a child.  He’s well-mannered and well-behaved.  He DOES NOT wreak havoc in our house in the days leading up to Christmas.  You wanna know why?  Because I’d find him a new home in about 3 seconds flat (new home = box in the garage, sealed shut).  Ain’t nobody got time for that.

I’m married.  I’ve got 3 kids (7 months, 23.9 months and 9).  I work full-time.  I go to college full-time.  My husband is a full-time, 24/7 stay-at-home dad who provides shuttle service, meals, laundry, etc. for a family of 5.  Obviously, we just don’t have time to parade around a little elf and help him be mischievous, only to clean up after him the next day.  I can barely avoid the mischievousness of my own brood without purposely adding to it.

So, in honor of those of us who just don’t feel all that elfy this year, I’ve come up with a December calendar that celebrates our elflessness and helps others, all at the same time.  Most of these things take very little time.  And, if you are in a huge time-crunch, you can carry the list with you and do a few at once.  It’s the spirit of elflessness, not which day you do an elfless deed.

25 Day of Elflessness
25 Day of Elflessness

Feel free to share 25 Days of Elflessness, but please give credit where credit is due.  Please and thank you.

One thought on “25 Days of Elflessness

Leave a Reply

