Another Month Gone?

Ok, really, where has the year gone?  I’ve been terribly slack in my blog posts.  (<– That is an understatement.) But, good grief…it’s almost April?

This balancing bit sure doesn’t get easier as I get older (or my kids get older).  Yeah, yeah, I signed up for this whole, “go back to school and better yourself,” bit, but I really underestimated the time commitment.  Before this semester, it was barely noticeable.  Now, trying to learn a foreign language (Spanish) is sucking time at an alarming rate.  (Hey kids, when given the opportunity to take a foreign language in your younger days…DO IT.  And, given the chance to take a placement test in college and possibly place out, TAKE THE TEST!)  Being old and learning another language is hard.

Total honesty?  I’m glad to see March come to an end.  I don’t think our entire family has made it to church together a single Sunday this month.  The healthy ones have made it, but there always seems to be at least one or two sickly ones in the group.  And, March 2014 will go down as “that time when the stomach bug hit.” I have horrible memories of Mike and I getting hit with a stomach bug Abby shared with us when she wasn’t quite two.  I thought I was going to die and I’ve never been that sick before or again in my life.  This go round, I could make a good argument for having an only child…  because when two of them get sick – the tasks more than double.  I’ve never washed so much laundry before in my life.  And, I’ve never been more tired of seeing Pedialyte, Gatorade or saltines.  In the end, Abby and I weren’t hit this time, but we ate very carefully for a few days in fear of becoming one of the fallen.  I also made sure that Abby stayed in her room as much as possible so she wouldn’t be exposed as often.  As the month closes, Jeb has roseola, Katie is über congested, Mike came down with a horrible URI and I got hit with a sinus/ear infection followed by something that is just awful, but probably viral.  Oddly, the child who used to get sick just looking at a dirty tissue seems to have gotten through unscathed. [Knock on wood!!!]

After this winter and the hit or miss of wintry precip, I’m ready for warmth and sunshine.  I can’t remember a more disruptive season (snow days, early release, delayed start) and I’m ready for it to end.  I’m hesitant to breathe a sigh of relief just yet because this is NC after all, and the most predictable part of our winter weather is that it is unpredictable.  I’ve heard tell of a year with measurable snowfall as late as April 18 (1983) at RDU, so I guess there is always a chance.

Come on, April.  Bring us health and warmth, please?

One thought on “Another Month Gone?

Leave a Reply

