The Search for a Church

We’ve been in Erie now for nearly 18 months.  If you had asked me before moving here what would be the hardest part, I would have said learning to adjust to the weather.  Now, I can say that was totally wrong.  The hardest part, by far, has been the struggle of finding a church for our family.

Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t for a lack of churches.  I think Erie may have more churches per capita than Raleigh or even Greensboro.  I didn’t even think that was possible.  However, we’ve tried numerous churches and just haven’t found one that really feels like home.  They seem nice, but we realize they don’t meet the needs of our entire family.

Shortly after arriving, Mike made the suggestion that we try attending Catholic church again.  I was raised Catholic and honestly struggled to feel at home in my teen years and early 20’s.  As Abby was born, I dipped my toes back in the holy water (pun intended).  Abby was baptized as an infant, but we immediately felt out of place among the church community.  We migrated to Baptist churches and finally landed in our church home for nearly 6 years.

Drumroll please… [totally for my mom’s benefit because I know when she reads this, she will have mutter, “I told her so,” under her breath]… we have joined a Catholic church community in Erie.  Abby attended her first CCD (yeah, yeah, it’s called Faith Formation in the 21st Century) class and was actually cheerful and smiling when she left…after 2 whole hours!  She’ll be playing catch up over the next few months to learn all the foundation “stuff” she’s missed in 1st through 5th grade.  (She’s a little less cheerful about having Independent Study.)

Now, to get two lively, loud, spirited toddlers to sit quietly for 45-60 minutes 😉

One thought on “The Search for a Church

  1. I 100% get how hard the church search is!!! It was the hardest for us in south Georgia – which blew my mind, b/c that’s the place with the church that makes the “Fireproof”, “Courageous”, & “War Room” movies. I even tried their Sunday School class… I couldn’t BELIEVE it didn’t click…

Leave a Reply

