Live2Lead

I can’t put into words how thankful I am for the many training opportunities I’m provided by my employer.  Today, I had the good fortune of attending a broadcast of John C Maxwell’s Live2Lead experience that took place live last Friday near Atlanta, Ga.

Majoring in Leadership in the Public Sector at NC State, I’m very aware of Maxwell and his writings and teachings over the past 40 years or so.  I couldn’t believe how awesome the broadcast really was.  Leadership is a passion of mine and listening to Maxwell, Patrick Lencioni, Valorie Burton and Kevin Turner exceeded all of my expectations.  It was only about 4 hours, but the messages were so targeted and valuable, I’m pretty sure I’ll be referring to my notes for years to come.

I know that sounds terribly cliché, but it’s true.  Next year’s experience will include Dan Cathy of Chick-fil-a as one of the speakers.  Love or loathe the politics of the Cathy family, they do have an amazing company that does a lot of good things in local communities.

My favorite takeaway from today was so simple, yet often so overlooked among leaders.  At their core, a leader is to serve others…serving by equipping others to succeed.  That simple statement had me immediately recalling leaders in my life.  The good and the bad.  And, not surprisingly, the good ones did have a servant’s heart.  An obvious desire to help their teams to improve.  It wasn’t about money or quotas…it was about helping each individual team member to find their passion and help them to grow as a person (both personally and professionally).  And, the bad ones seemed to be more focused on getting other people to make them look better.  It was more about “serve me” than “serving.”

One thought on “Live2Lead

Leave a Reply

