2016 New Year’s Survey

I started posting this survey in 2010 and have continued with each new year (2011, 201220132014 & 2015).

1) What did you do in 2015 that you’d never done before?

Purchased a MacBook

2) Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I just don’t even bother with formal resolutions anymore…I feel like it’s like setting myself up for failure.

3) Did anyone close to you give birth?

Family – my cousin (baby Tucker); Proximity – my coworker’s wife (baby Arlo)

4) Did anyone close to you die?

Again, I’m thankful to answer this no…but the year was filled with loss by many of my friends.  😦

5) What countries did you visit?

None, but I think Canada will be on the list for 2016 for the entire family…if Mother Nature would get a grip and realize it’s WINTER, we might be able to see Niagara Falls frozen.

6) What would you like to have in 2016 that you lacked in 2015?

A degree from NCSU.  <–This is gonna happen…this is gonna happen…this is gonna happen translates to “I think I can, I think I can, I think I can.”

7) What date from 2015 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

April 20 – 90th Anniversary of ERIE Insurance (boy, can my employer celebrate)

8) What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Accepting that I can’t do it all and that’s ok

9) What was your biggest failure?

Finding balance

10) Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nothing major.

11) What was the best thing you bought?

two cedar chests at a yard sale

12) Whose behavior merited celebration?

Mike – I’m so lucky that God chose him for me

13) Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

A professor who doesn’t seem to realize that her actions (or inactions) can have a huge impact on her students.

14) Where did most of your money go?

Boring stuff…rent, utilities, gasoline, food

15) What did you get really, really, really excited about?

My surprise birthday lunch (I got really, really, really excited once I got there and realized what was happening)

16) What song will always remind you of 2015?

Confident by Demi Lovato

17) Compared to this time last year, are you:

– happier or sadder? happier

– thinner or fatter? fatter

– richer or poorer? richer in faith and family

18) What do you wish you’d done more of?

Spending time with God

19) What do you wish you’d done less of?

Making unhealthy choices

20) How did you spend New Year’s?

Watching college football… Go Clemson! Go Michigan State (they lost, but it’s an honor just to play)!

21) Did you fall in love in 2015?

Just with the man of my dreams…again…and again…and again.

22) How many one-night stands?

None (ever)

23) What was your favorite TV program?

As usual, I’m late to the party… having discovered Pretty Little Liars and Jane the Virgin in 2015.

Code Black and Chicago Med are now must watch shows and I’ll never tire of NCISNCIS: New OrleansAmazing Race or Big Bang Theory.

24) Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I don’t like the idea of hate.  There are people I don’t like and people I try to avoid, but no one that I actually hate.

25) What was the best book you read?

Marybeth Whalen’s The Bridge Tender

26) What was your greatest musical discovery?

Meghan Trainor – don’t judge

27) What did you want and get?

The opportunity to make a real difference in other people’s lives at work…I know that sounds hokey, but it’s true.

28) What did you want and not get?

A smaller clothing size

29) What was your favorite film of this year?

War Room

30) What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 37 in 2015.  Mike secretly planned a girls lunch for me with my besties and dropped me off at Pufferbelly’s for lunch.  The surprise, the company and the lunch were amazing.

31) What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Being less critical of myself.

32) How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2015?

Have clothes, will wear

33) What kept you sane?

Mike

34) Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

No one comes to mind.

35) What political issue stirred you the most?

Gun control and mental health care

36) Whom did you miss?

My church family at Trinity.

37) Who was the best new person you met?

Elaine the Trainer

38) Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2015:

You can generate more value and benefit from putting focus on improving your strengths instead of trying to undo a weakness.

39) Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

“You got a vision, you got a dream
but it feels a million miles away;
you got your passion, you got to believe
that is why you were made.”

Impossible
from Building 429

2 thoughts on “2016 New Year’s Survey

Leave a Reply

