The Honest Housekeeper

I am not a housekeeper.  Never have been.  Just ask my mom…who walked into my room countless times with a large garbage and purged on my behalf while I was growing up.  It isn’t that I like filth.  Or enjoy sloppy.  Or thrive on having crap everywhere.  None of those things are true.  But, for whatever reason, I just don’t enjoy cleaning.  Actually, the cleaning doesn’t really bother me…but the re-cleaning immediately after drives me nuts. I guess it’s sort of like making the bed…which I do not do unless I’m changing the sheets. (Sorry Mom, but I just can’t bring myself to make the bed so I can turn around 16 hours later and mess it up.)

And with 3 kids, any cleaning I do gets undone in the blink of an eye, even while I’m still cleaning.  *sigh*

Full disclosure – Mike does the majority of the cleaning in our house.  I’m not particularly proud of that, but it is what it is.  That’s been the case for, well, ever.  I vacuum and infrequently dust.  And periodically wash some clothes (but I’m notorious for NOT actually folding them and putting them away).  And I did the dishes sort of regularly when we lived in NC and had a dishwasher.  (I miss me some dishwasher!)  But that’s about it.  Mike does just about everything else.  Majority of laundry.  Cleaning the bathrooms.  Hand washing all of the dishes.  Yep.  Everything.

For nearly two weeks, Mike has been out of commission, meaning there is no handsome fairy flitting around my house keeping the dishes clean, the laundry washed, the bathrooms sparkling…you get the idea.  I’d love to report that I stepped right up and all of the laundry is washed, all the dishes are clean and all of the bathrooms are sparkling.  But alas, I can not.  I can report that all but one dish is now clean because I just washed everything that was left this morning.  And when I say everything, I’m not exaggerating.  We had exactly one spoon left in the silverware drawer, two forks and a plastic knife.  (See, I must love you guys because I’m totally admitting I suck at this.)

When you have to wash that much silverware at once, along with countless Tervis Tumblers that have been keeping small beverage quantities chilled for your soulmate who is recovering from bariatric surgery, and the most ridiculous number of small dishes to serve a toddler and a preschooler 3 meals, 2 snacks and overcome “meal meltdowns” daily, you run out of room.  Quickly.

And this, my friends, is what it looks like when you have nowhere to dry your silverware.

Yep, that is a gallon pitcher filled with clean silverware.  Be jealous 😛

Happy Saturday!  I’ll be taking my dishpan hands to the Y for a little while now so my kids can run around crazy and I can have an hour of relative quiet.

One thought on “The Honest Housekeeper

Leave a Reply

