Metric on This Side of the Pond

Before working in IT, when I heard the word, “metric,” I immediately thought of meters and liters, picturing math problems converting inches to centimeters and gallons into liters.  Now, it think of measurement and how to measure something…usually quality, but I digress.

With this huge journey I’m on, I’d be doing myself a disservice and anyone following along to better understand the journey if I didn’t give an honest metric assessment.  Full disclosure, prior to this post, I’m only aware of 2 people in the world who know my weight and are not medical professionals.  Obviously, the hubs is one…and another is a very close friend.

To be clear, I’m not doing this to get compliments or praise.  I’m honestly sharing something very personal to offer support to anyone who might need it…anyone who is struggling just like me.  Even if it’s just one person, it’s worth it to me.

I plan on blogging regularly to share the ups and downs I experience post-surgery.  Part of that will include some simple metrics.

So, here goes nothing…

2 weeks prior to surgery at final surgeon’s appointment (June 28, 2016) – 299 lbs
And before anyone gasps, yes, I’ve weighed above 300lbs…for a while.  My highest weight ever was 310.

Day of surgery, following a 6 day liquid diet of protein shakes, water and Crystal Light (July 11, 2016) – 287 lbs

While the thought did occur to me, hey, if I can lose 12 lbs in just 2 weeks, why not just keep up the shake and water regimen and skip the surgery altogether…I was a hangry mess by the end of that 6 day regimen and I was exhausted.  I didn’t have the energy to adult, let alone exercise.  So, no last minute cancellations for this girl.

img_3794
 

Leave a Reply

