All the Little Victories

When I made the decision to have weight loss surgery, it wasn’t only to lose weight.  Wait, what?!?  You read that right.  It wasn’t only to lose weight.  Don’t get me wrong, losing the weight is an amazing thing, but it isn’t even my main motivation.  Health is my main motivation behind the surgery and the lifestyle changes.

Movie Night – Since surgery, we’ve had two movie nights in our house.  Movie nights that lasted until nearly 10pm or later.  Movie nights that I would have never been able to enjoy just a few weeks ago.  Why?  Because I was always so tired.  I could literally fall asleep anytime and anywhere given the chance.  Most nights when Mike and I even tried to sit together and watch a TV show, I’d nod off no matter how hard I tried to stay awake.

Stairs – we have two sets of stairs in our home…one leading upstairs from the main floor to the master bedroom and one leading downstairs from the main floor to the basement (freezer, laundry, storage).  While avoiding the master bedroom wasn’t really an option, avoiding the basement was previously.  I avoided unnecessary trips on the stairs because I would often get winded in just climbing a single flight.  I’m happy to say that I’ve been up and down those stairs countless times in the past two weeks and I haven’t been out of breath once.

Sleep – In the past two weeks, I’ve enjoyed 8-9 hours of sleep each night.  No waking up repeatedly.  Just plain old sleep.  And I love it.  I’m hoping to continue getting close to that, but I know I’ll have to cut back a little, mainly because I can’t get up at 8am if I need to be at work by 7:30am.  I’m good, but not that good 🙂

Each time I step on the scale, I remind myself of all the little victories I’m achieving that can’t be shown on that little digital screen.  The victories that bring joy and have nothing to do with a number.

 

2 thoughts on “All the Little Victories

Leave a Reply

