A Downside to Downsizing

It’s been over four months since my bariatric surgery.  It feels like those months have flown by.  Literally.  And the pounds really have flown away.  I’m down over 80 pounds.  It’s an amazing feelings to go to the drawer ‘o clothes (clothes from years gone by or from “I’ll buy it and just save it until I can wear it” purchases) and try things on that didn’t fit a week or two ago.  As a matter of fact, “the dress” fits.  It fits!  It fits!  It fits!!!  However, I’m holding out to wear it until I can wear it for a date night with the hubs.  You know, a sleeveless, green and off-white dress with a pink ribbon belt makes the perfect Christmas Party dress.  (Did I mention it’s currently snowing outside?!?)  But, I’m gonna wear that sucker with a sweater and feel like a million dollars.  I could care less how cold it will be.  And I’m certain it will be cold.  I live in Erie.

My recovery following surgery and the transition to post-surgery lifestyle has gone remarkably well.  I’ve only had one eating snafu where what went down came back up (note to self…I can only eat Smith’s hot dogs at this point…anything else is just unacceptable and indigestible).  I did have a run-in with a few bites of pizza a while back that told me that it was a little soon for dough, but lying down took care of that.  All in all, I’ve had no real complaints.  Except, my hair.

I’ve never loved my hair.  Most of my friends know the unkind words I’ve had for my locks since middle school.  Literally.  Fluffy, natural curl, frizzy, too blonde (before kids), too mousy (after kids), untamed.  Yeah, I rarely ever had a kind word for my hair.  Ever.

It isn’t uncommon to experience temporary hair loss or thinning following anesthesia and major surgery.  And I’ve experienced that in the past following all three c-sections.  I thought I knew what to expect.  I took extra vitamins and supplements in an attempt to offset some of the inevitable.  But, major surgery compounded with major change in nutrition got the best of my mane.  It had gotten to the point that I was losing massive amounts of hair with each washing, combing or brushing.  I was literally in tears each morning getting ready for work.  The surgeon assured me it wasn’t uncommon and it is almost always temporary…typically beginning to reverse around months 6 and 7 post-surgery.

My brain told me, “you can make it.  That’s only Valentine’s Day at the latest.”  But my heart told me, “this is so depressing.”  Thankfully, Mike reminded me daily of how beautiful I am…and that my hair did NOT look the way I saw it in my head.  Sadly, those reminders just weren’t enough.  As I got ready to shower yesterday, I just couldn’t stand the idea of pulling clumps and clumps of hair out of the drain or rinsing clumps of hair off my hands as I washed and conditioned.  What’s a girl to do?  Haircut!!!

And cut it I did.  All of it.  Short.  Super short.  I’ve toyed with short hair in the past… about 9 years ago and probably 9 years before that (give or take).  But, it’s usually a one and done kind of thing.  Cut it all off, and then patiently wait for it to grow back.  Honestly, I have no clue if short hair is going to become “a thing” for me, or if it’s one and done again.  But, it’s super short, super cute and super easy.  No clumps or hair this morning in the shower.  And styling was a breeze!

2 thoughts on “A Downside to Downsizing

  1. I’m glad to see you are doing so well. I have to ask…. what’s your favorite protein shake? I’m still trying to find one that I can stomach since my surgery (17 months ago). I’m smaller now than I was in high school. 🙂 It really does feel awesome!

  2. Admittedly, I was SO ready to stop drinking protein shakes as soon as I could hit 60-80g of protein through food and milk alone. I was drinking Premier Protein shakes before and after surgery. They tasted very different after…and not really a good different. I found the caramel flavor the least offensive after surgery, but only when very, very, very cold. Did I mention it had to be COLD? I’ve tried Muscle Milk post-surgery a few times (chocolate) and it wasn’t bad. It tasted more like chocolate milk and it wasn’t as “protein” tasting, if that makes any sense. I’ve had a friend recommend using egg white protein powder to add to shakes or smoothies to get the protein when the traditional shakes are unpleasant. I haven’t personally tried, but might be worth a shot.

Leave a Reply

