The Century Mark

I hopped on the scale this morning and I did a happy dance.  As of today, I’ve lost one. hundred. pounds.  One-zero-zero.  Just over six months ago, that was a mere dream.  A wishful thought.  My doctor cautioned me on setting an overall goal, “the average person will lose about 60-70% of their excess weight.”  I assured him I understood what “average” meant and for every person that lost 80-90% of their excess weight, someone else lost only 40-50%.

I now weight less than 200 pounds.  199.6 to be exact.  And yeah, I’m totally counting and crazy excited.  I can’t remember the last time I weighed less than 200 pounds.  Probably my senior year in high school… I spent the summer before my senior year in Russia.  And ended up with an ugly intestinal bug. (Hospitals in Russia were NOT fun back in the mid-90’s.  Trust me.)  But, that bug did help me lose a remarkable amount of weight.  So yeah, it’s been a good 21 years since I was this size.

I had post-op blood work drawn recently.  Just standard stuff.  And I was thrilled to learn that nearly all of my levels are perfect.  Cholesterol, glucose and so on.  I’m just a little low on Vitamin D.  Guess what?!?  I live in Erie, PA.  I’d be willing to bet a lot of us in NW PA are low on Vitamin D 🙂  It was very reassuring to see the results come back without any major deficiencies.  I try to eat properly post surgery, but there are days when it can be hard.  I know I don’t drink enough water.  I try, but I usually get caught up in my day (work, home, whatever) and forget to drink as much as I should.  Yeah, I can set reminders, but then I just ignore them.  And eating the right amount of protein?  Some days, I’m spot on.  Others, I don’t make it.  I don’t let it get me down though.  I remind myself that each day is a new opportunity.  I’ve learned not to dwell on a bad decision when it comes to food.  And, that has helped me to make fewer bad decisions.

Our family is still learning to adjust to having two adults that don’t EAT like 250 and 300 pound people… and how to incorporate a good variety in everyone’s diet.  I’m going to start making smoothies a few mornings a week in my Ninja.  That way, everyone can enjoy and I feel like I can sneak some extra fruits and veggies into our diets without a lot of effort.

A huge thank you to all of my family and friends for the support and encouragement you’ve given me over the past year or so.  Many of you were supportive even as I was making decision to pursue surgery and have continued to support me through everything.  I honestly wouldn’t be where I am now without you.  I recently thought about how God’s timing is truly perfect.  I had seriously considered surgery when we still lived in Raleigh.  But, I didn’t feel like it was realistic for me at that time.  In all honesty, I wasn’t sure it ever would be.  Yet, just a few years later, I know, without a doubt, that God just wanted me to wait until the perfect time… and that came in Erie.

2 thoughts on “The Century Mark

Leave a Reply

